Applied IT

Content coming soon!

Year 10 and 11
Course BTEC Level 1 / 2 Tech Award in Digital Information Technology
Exam Board/Syllabus Edexcel
Grade Equivalences Level 2 Distinction* (A* Equivalent) – Level 1 Pass (F/G Equivalent)
Assessment Route

The Pearson BTEC Level 1/Level 2 Tech Award in Digital Information Technology has:

Total Qualification Time: 150 hours

Guided Learning Hours: 120 hours

There are 3 Units:

Exploring User Interface Design Principles and Project Planning Techniques (36GLH) (Internally assessed)

Collecting, Presenting and Interpreting Data (36 GLH) (Internally assessed)

Effective Digital Working Practices (48 GLH) (Internally assessed)

The BTEC Level 1 / 2 Tech Award in Digital Information Technology is for learners who wish to acquire knowledge and technical skills through vocational contexts by studying the knowledge, understanding and skills related to data management, data interpretation, data presentation and data protection as part of their Key Stage 4 learning. This builds on the learning that has already taken place at Key Stage 3. The qualification recognises the value of learning skills, knowledge and vocational attributes to complement GCSEs.

What does the qualification cover?

The Award gives learners the opportunity to develop sector-specific knowledge and skills in a practical learning environment, including:
  • Development of key skills that prove their aptitude in digital information technology, such as project planning, designing and creating user interfaces, creating dashboards to present and interpret data
  • Processes that underpin effective ways of working, such as project planning, the iterative design process, cyber security, virtual teams, legal and ethical codes of conduct
  • Knowledge that underpins effective use of skills, processes and attitudes in the sector, such as how different user interfaces meet user needs, how organisations collect and use data to make decisions, virtual workplaces, cyber security and legal and ethical issues.


Study of the qualification as part of Key Stage 4 learning will help learners to make more informed choices for further learning either generally or in this sector. The choices that learners can make post-16 will depend on their overall level of attainment and their performance in the qualification. Learners who generally achieve at Level 2 across their Key Stage 4 learning might consider progression to:

  • Study of a vocational qualification at Level 3, such as a BTEC National in IT, which prepares learners to enter employment or apprenticeships, or to move on to higher education by studying a degree in the digital sector.

It also enhances young people’s overall digital literacy and gives them a solid foundation for further study and employment.


Ethos & Aims

Latest News

Virtual Open Evenings